The Wines

In most wines, animal products are used as processing aids in the “fining” or filtration part of the winemaking process to help remove solids such as grape skins, stems and seeds. Although typically filtered out of the wine before it is sold, the use of animal ingredients makes wines unsuitable for vegans.

The most common animal ingredients used in making wine are:

  • Isinglass, a very pure form of gelatin from sturgeon fish bladders
  • Gelatin, extract from boiled cow’s or pig’s hooves and sinews
  • Egg whites
  • Caseins, a protein from milk

The Vegan Vine Wines are grown and produced by Clos LaChance Winery, a family-owned operation located in the Northern Central Coast of California. Clos LaChance is proud to be Certified Sustainable by the California Sustainable Winegrower’s Alliance. Certification for the winery and 150 acres of Estate vineyards was obtained in 2010.

Contact Us

1 Hummingbird Lane
San Martin, CA 95046
1-800-487-9463